The Forms of Shaolin Kempo Karate

There are a wide variety of forms in the Shaolin Kempo Karate system. They fall into roughly five categories:

The Pinans:

These are the forms that represent the ‘Karate’ roots of Shaolin Kempo Karate.

The Kata series:

These are the true back bone of Shaolin Kempo.

Shaolin Kempo Black Belt Forms:

These tend to move in a much more flowing manner. Some describe them as more ‘kung fu’, but they aren’t from any recognized system of Chinese Martial Arts.


Some are required for rank in most SKK schools, and some are more ‘late additions’ by the separate groups.

Weapon Forms:

Under black belt forms tend to use the bo (6′ staff), and black belt forms use a wider variety of weapons.